On a sunny day, The Chinese Tea House glitters brightly in the sunlight. Coming upon this little gem while walking through Sans Souci is a little bit delightful and a little bit disturbing at the same time. So shiny!
The Chinese Tea House in Park Sans Souci was built as a garden pavilion between the years 1755 and 1764. The Chinoise style was very popular at the time, and the architect Johnn Gottfried Büring used a mix of Rococo and Asian elements in its design.
The gilded sandstone sculptures that sit at the feet of the columns and stand at the walls of the rooms originate from the workshops of the sculptors Johann Gottlieb Heymüller and Johann Peter Benckert. People from the area stood as models for the eating, drinking and music-making Chinese figures, which explains the statues’ European features. — Wikipedia